It’s Scone Be Ok

These past two weeks in Scotland have been a whirlwind of new sites, people, and culture, and at times it has been a bit overwhelming.  But when I feel homesick or out of sorts, I simply count the amount of things I’m sad about, then count the amount of things I’m happy about, and the latter always outweighs the first.

Here are a couple of things I am grateful for in Scotland…

IMG_5488.JPG

Friendly People 

Whether it is the kids in my program, kids I have met through clubs, or little old Scottish ladies who have literally stopped me in the street just to say hi, a lot of people are kind around here, and truly want to get to know you.

This is a bonfire set up by the hiking club I joined, which has a ton of down to earth people!

IMG_5499.JPG

Scones

This particular scone is called the Prince of Cambridge and has blueberries, raspberries, and white chocolate.  It is from Gorgeous, a local bakery in town.  A scone with a cup of tea is one of the loveliest ways to spend an afternoon break.

Today I grabbed a scone and tea with a new friend.  She is a post graduate at St Andrews from Germany, and we met on a Food Tour of St Andrews!

The Beach 

IMG_5507.JPG

The ocean is something that has always calmed me, and I am so lucky that there are three different beaches around my campus.  Salty air and water truly can cure many illnesses, and seeing the ocean reminds me that everything is going to be ok.

This week marks the beginning of classes and a routine, and I am excited to begin this next step of study abroad  🙂  A wise friend once told me “Something is going to happen” when I study abroad, and I am going to keep that perspective going forward.  Good and bad days make up life, but the experience and opportunities I have while abroad truly come once in a lifetime!

 

 

4 thoughts on “It’s Scone Be Ok

  1. Tracy Ramsey says:

    Sarah –

    I want to give you a huge hug! You are so positive and each day that passes, you will be a little less homesick and will feel more connected to Scotland! We miss you more than you know. Keep that chin up and keep eating scones and tea! I will see you soon sweets!

    Love you to the stars and back!

    Mom

    On Mon, Sep 12, 2016 at 3:34 PM, “Sweet Olympia” wrote:

    > Sarah Ramsey posted: “These past two weeks in Scotland have been a > whirlwind of new sites, people, and culture, and at times it has been a bit > overwhelming. But when I feel homesick or out of sorts, I simply count the > amount of things I’m sad about, then count the amount of t” >

Leave a Reply

