“The 7 Things I Love About You”: Food Edition

My apologies for a lack of posts this past semester. I became too infatuated with Instagram for its quickness and ability to reach my people.  But still give me a follow @sweetolympia. 2015 was a year of many new beginnings and I am so blessed for all of the memories and opportunities I was given.  I thought I would give a recap on the this year with “The 7 Things I Love About You”: Food Edition.

  1. Seven Layer Bars

IMG_3227

What can I say? These things are addicting. The sugar rush you get from the sweetened condensed milk alongside the hodge podge of toppings is like no other.  The butterscotch chips are my absolute favorite because of the creamy rich flavor they add.  Added perk? You can make these in less than an hour.

2. The Croque Madame at the MET Bar 

IMG_3226.PNG

This is one of my favorite dishes of all times hands down.  Please pardon the picture quality as there was dim lighting and I had the older version of my phone.  This meal is uber rich and is perfect for a cold winter’s day when you want bone sticking goodness.  The sandwich itself is bread slathered with béchamel, gruyere, ham, more bread, more gruyere, and finally a sunny side egg on top… If this was not enough to satisfy your savory palate, there is also a side of truffle fries with an aioli dipping sauce.  All for $13 dollars!

3. Chocolate Fudge Cake from Arlington Bakery 

img_2792

I am going to let you in on a little secret… If you want to make me fall in love with you, just buy me this cake, and my heart will be yours forever! Actually, until I finish it.  Then I will want another.  If the Croque Madame above is one of my favorite savory meals, this heavenly slab literally takes the cake regarding all desserts!  The chocolate frosting oozes out as you cut into it, with chocolate ganache covering all of its sides, and I can never put my fork down once I start.  Seriously, to treat yourself right in 2016 buy this cake.  You will thank me.

4. Greek Mezze at Pier 77 in Cape Porpoise

IMG_3230

This appetizer turned main course, with the addition of salmon, is my go to at Pier 77 in Cape Porpoise.  Not what you would expect from a Maine restaurant covered on the outside with lobster traps over looking Goat Island Lighthouse.  The hummus is one of the creamiest I have ever had, flanked by grilled flatbread triangles that are bread like in the middle, but crunchy outer edges.  Tzatziki adds a luxurious creaminess, and a spread of stuffed grape leaves, olives, and roasted peppers stud the plate.  The salmon is always cooked perfectly and melts in your mouth like butter.  PS: Order the blueberry crumble for dessert and DON’T split it.

5. Baked Goods and Ice Cream from FoMu in AllstonIMG_3229

FoMu is a wonderful plant based dessert-erie (just made that into a word), filled with decadent ice cream and baked goods.  What makes them unique is that their ice cream is not made from cow’s milk.  Rather coconut or nut milk. Please don’t let this deter you traditionalists. Trust me when I say you can’t taste the difference. If anything it makes the ice cream more creamy!  I’ve had their peanut butter chip, peanut butter brownie, magic bar, and sampled quite a few more.  Out of their baked goods I’ve had their ginormous nutter butter, pictured above, and their magic bar (7 layer bar).  Grab dessert here and dinner beforehands at Whole Hearted Provisions or Roxy’s Grilled Cheese located next door.

6. Avocado Toast (it’s the most trending @sweetolympia item)

IMG_3225

What an easy meal and yet, avocado toast has been so popular this year.  Literally all you have to do is toast your favorite type of bread.  Top it with your favorite type of cheese.  Smash half an avocado on either slice of bread.  Add a sunny side up egg.  And BOOM.  You’re done.  Throw that on Instagram and people will be amazed by your beautiful looking masterpiece. Cut the egg so it runs down seductively, and you will have people going crazy. I apologize in advance if avocado toast makes it onto my top dishes of 2016. While the trend may die out, I certainly will not get tired of eating it.

7. Squid Ink Pasta at Ports of Italy in Kennebunk

IMG_3228

Squid ink pasta is one of the most “out there” dishes I have ever eaten, besides fresh out of the shell sea urchin. This pasta was on my “To Try” list for some time. Partially for the adventurer in me, partially because I thought it would be delicious.  And by golly it was.  The squid ink adds a briny underlying note to the pasta, which had mussels, shrimp, and calamari. Sadly, this was a special, but if we all call Ports of Italy and suggest it be added to the menu I think they would comply!  Also, order the tiramisu for dessert. The best I’ve ever had. Fair warning, I’ve never been to Italy.

Cheers to an even more delicious 2016… although I am not sure that is possible. May your days be filled with family, friends, and good eats. Stay classy and be grateful for what you already have.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

