Maple Almond Granola

A nice bowl of granola, with fresh fruit, and milk seems to be one of my favorite breakfasts.  It is hearty enough to keep you going until lunch and has that nice wholesome quality about it.  This is the first time I have ever made my own granola, and I don’t think I will ever buy it again.  This takes almost zero effort and within an hour you have a sweet n’ salty snack that is also pretty healthy.  I used the recipe from Smitten Kitchen’s Cookbook via Serious Eats, but I did not get the so called big clusters promised.  I think I was not gentle enough when I moved the granola around at the halfway cooking time… I guess I need to work on that technique.  But nevertheless I found this granola fantastic, so if you get the clusters described, I imagine it will be fabulous!  I changed the ingredients slightly to adapt to my cupboard, feel free to do the same.

March 18th ROUND TWO: The second time I made this granola was a success!! Instead of mixing the granola halfway through the baking time I just rotated the pan.  Then once the granola is done baking let it cool for a couple minutes and carefully break it into clusters.

photo-52

Maple Almond Granola (around 12 1/2 cup servings)

3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats

2/3 cup unsweetened flaked coconut

1 cup slivered almonds

1/4 cup sunflower seeds

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup maple syrup

1 large egg white

Pre-heat your oven to 300 degrees.  Line a pan with parchment paper or a non-stick mat.

Combine everything in a bowl, excluding the lone egg white.  Mix thoroughly.

Whisk the egg white in a bowl until it gets light and frothy.  Add to the granola mixture and mix so it coats everything.

Spread it on the lined baking sheet.  Bake for a total of 50-55 minutes.  Halfway through I used a spatula to turn over the granola.  I think this was my fatal mistake because this is where the granola crumbled apart.  If you want to ensure clusters maybe just rotate the pan so you don’t disturb the bonds forming.

It is done when the granola is dry to the touch and lightly browned.

Enjoy!

photo-53

Leave a Reply

